What is CMM Quest v1.3?

CMM Quest v1.3 is the self appraisal tool for software development organizations and projects to evaluate and analyze their software development processes, quickly and efficiently compliant to CMMI-DEV v1.3.


You perform an appraisal to determine your strengths and weaknesses concerning your way of developing software.


Use CMM Quest v1.3 to rate the most important process categories for software development within a few hours.


The result contains comprehensive evaluations and analysis in the form of charts, that correspond to the capability profiles. If demanded, a Web Report can be generated.


The rating can be done on your own, within a group of your organization (Self-Appraisal) or it you be guided using the help of a consultant (Guided Self-Appraisal).


You can also perform the Appraisal in Audit style and have the rating done by external consultants. Contact us, we'll be happy to advise you about the ideal way how to perform an appraisal!


What is CMMI-DEV v1.3?:

CMMI is the abbreviation of Capability Maturity Model Integration, which is the de-facto standard in the Unighted States of Amerika. Is was developed by the Software Engineering Institute of Carnegie Mellon University. CMMI-DEV v1.3 is the current version of CMMI (successor of the well known CMM, the american pendant to the european ISO 15504 respectively Spice).


CMM Quest v1.3 is compliant to the continuous and staged representation of CMMI-DEV v1.3.


The continuous representation allows you to select the order of improvement that best meets the organization’s business objectives and mitigates the organization’s areas of risk. Additionally it enables comparisons across and among organizations on a process area by process area basis or by comparing results through the use of equivalent staging. An easy comparison of process improvement to International Organization for Standardization and International Electrotechnical Commission (ISO/IEC) 15504 is also affordable, because the organization of process areas is similar to ISO/IEC 15504.


The components of both the continuous and the staged representations are process areas, specific goals, specific practices, generic goals, generic practices, typical work products, subpractices, generic practice elaborations and references. These components fall apart into three groups, namely required, expected and informative model components.


In the continuous representation, process areas can be grouped into four categories - Process Management, Project Management, Engineering and Support.


Specific goals and generic goals are required model components. These components must be achieved by an organization’s planned and implemented processes. Required components are essential to rating the achievement of a process area. Specific goals apply to a process area and address the unique characteristics that describe what must be implemented to satisfy the process area. There can be specific practices at different capability levels mapped to the same goal. However, every goal has at least one capability level 1 practice mapped to it.


Specific practices and generic practices are expected model components. Expected components describe what an organization will typically implement to achieve a required component. Expected components guide those implementing improvements or performing appraisals. The specific practices describe the activities expected to result in achievement of the specific goals of a process area. Every specific practice is associated with a capability level. Generic practices provide institutionalization to ensure that the processes associated with the process area will be effective, repeatable, and lasting. Subpractices are detailed descriptions that provide guidance for interpreting specific or generic practices.


Generic practices may depend on certain process areas in two different ways:

  • Some generic practices rely on the support of a process area.
  • Other generic practices cannot be executed without an output from a process area


Informative components provide details that help model users get started in thinking about how to approach goals and practices (model components that help model users understand the goals and practices and how they can be achieved). Generic practice elaborations are informative model components that appear in each process area to provide guidance on how the generic practices should uniquely be applied to the process area. Also typical work products are informative model components that provide example outputs from a specific or generic practice.


The continuous representation uses six capability levels, capability profiles, target staging, and equivalent staging as organizing principles for the model components. It groups process areas by affinity categories and designates capability levels for process improvement within each process area.




Generic goals and generic practices apply to multiple process areas. The generic goals and generic practices define a sequence of capability levels that represent improvements in the implementation and effectiveness of all the processes you choose to improve.


This representation focuses on best practices your organization can use to improve processes in the process areas it has chosen to address.


All CMMI models with a continuous representation reflect capability levels in their design and content. A capability level consists of related specific and generic practices for a process area that can improve the organization’s processes associated with that process area. As you satisfy the generic and specific goals for a process area at a particular capability level, and you achieve that capability level, you reap the benefits of process improvement.


Capability levels build on each other, providing a recommended order for approaching process improvement. There are six capability levels, designated by the numbers 0 through 5.




Reaching capability level 1 for a process area is equivalent to saying you perform the process area, or more precisely, you are achieving the specific goals of the process area.


Reaching capability level 2 for a process area is like saying you manage your performance of the process area. There is a policy that indicates you will perform it (that is, a process or processes that are intended to cover it). There is a plan for performing it, there are resources provided, responsibilities assigned, training on how to perform it, selected work products from performing the process area are controlled, etc.


Reaching capability level 3 for a process area assumes that there is an organizational standard process or processes that cover that process area that can be tailored to the specific need.


Sometimes it may be desired to convert an achievement profile for an organization into a maturity level. This conversion is made possible by "equivalent staging".


For further information see: www.sei.cmu.edu/cmmi/


CMM and Capability Maturity Model are registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office by Carnegie Mellon University. CMMI and CMM Integration are service marks of Carnegie Mellon University. The Software Engineering Institute (SEI) is a federally funded research and development center sponsored by the U.S. Department of Defense and operated by Carnegie Mellon University.
The owners of this web site are not affiliated in any way with Carnegie Mellon University.
For internal use only

HM&S IT-Consulting GmbH

Breaking news

New: Quest Tool Version 3.3.0

The Quest Tool Version 3.3.0 is available for all Quest Tools released on Dec. 2nd, 2017!

Read more …

New: Quest Tool Version 3.2.0

The Quest Tool Version 3.2.0 is available for all Quest Tools released on Nov. 20th, 2015!

Read more …

Quest Tool Version 3.0

Quest Tool Version 3.0 is now available:

New in Version 3.0: Integrated Managing of report templates, ..

Read more …